It's a series as old as time.

The very first opponent in the history of Longview football came against these same Marshall Mavericks, 112 years ago. No scoring was had in that first meeting, back in November of 1909.

Brown Park in Marshall was the location of that first meeting, the field was more of a baseball park then a football ground. The shenanigans between the two schools started early, with the newspaper of Marshall at the time claiming Longview played players that had college level experience in that first game.

Early on in the series, the Marshall Mavericks dominated the Lobos...or Loboes as they were called until 1934. All the way up until 1931, the Mavs only lost to Longview two times, in 1912 and in 1927.

Two 5 game winning streaks coupled with two four game winning streaks saw the Mavericks jump out to an early 18-2-2 series advantage.

It wasn't unable the 1933 season, after the two teams did not meeting in 1932, that the tide of the series really began to shift. Since that year separation, the Lobos have rolled to a 61-24-2 series advantage.

The 1933 season saw the Loboes get three touchdowns from Nick Wheeler, including a 65 yard 4th quarter romp that sealed the deal, at Fair Park in Longview, in a 18-0 victory. Longview went on to win 6 consecutive games against their rivals to the East, and 9 of 10 contests.

Longview's largest win in the series, until the 1980s, came in this time frame. Don Fambrough tallied up five touchdowns, four on the ground and one through the air, as he helped his Lobos steamrolled the Mavericks in 1940, 40-12.

Marshall's largest victory in the series came amidst a 6-game winning streak over the Lobos between 1948 and 1953, when the Mavs handed the Lobos their largest ever home defeat, 58-7.

Longview, suffering their worst season in modern day football, came into the ball game a porous 1-8 on the year, while the Mavericks came in at 5-4. After the two teams had battled to a 7-7 tie early into the second quarter, the Mavericks took off.

Keat Mullikin spearheaded the effort with two touchdowns, while 6 different Marshall players were able to score, including a 63 yard interception return by Jerry Strickland, as Marshall dominated the Lobos, 58-7.

A win the next season would propel the Mavericks back to a 16-game series advantage, before the 1954 season saw Longview really start to take over the series. Longview's Dub Thomas would rush for three touchdowns that day in a 27-18 win at Lobo Stadium.

The win in 1954 would set the stage for Longview to win 27 of the next 34 meetings.

Of course, all Lobo and Maverick fans know about the streak. A Lobo winning streak that would span 19 consecutive seasons over the Mavericks dating from 1969 to 1987.

The winning streak started on October 17th, 1969 when Jimmy Hill's 34-yard field goal with 19 seconds remaining sent the Lobos to a 17-16 win inside Maverick Stadium. Two years later, the Lobos would again need a late score, this time a 29 yard field goal by Jeb Blount with 6 minutes left in the contest, to sneak out a win.

One of the closer games of the streak came in 1978, when Longview and Marshall would battle back and forth all night before Mike Faggett hauled in a 72-yard flea flicker with just over two minutes remaining to escape with a 17-14 victory.

Marshall saw their first win over Longview in nearly 20 years come in the 1988 season, where Odell Beckham went off on the Lobos for three touchdowns in a 28-0 win at Maverick Stadium. Longview barely even got over the 100 total yardage marker, gaining just 106 yards on the night.

The two teams would see each other exchange 3-game winning streaks against one another the next 9 years, one that saw the Mavericks win their school's only state championship in the 1990 season.

In 1997, the Lobos reached their own state title game for the first time in 60 years, with a win over Marshall along the way. However, the Mavericks jumped out to a 14-0 lead on the Lobos after one quarter in the game, before Longview rolled back for a 40-21 victory.

In 1998, the lead up to the game and the game itself was probably the biggest between the two in the schools' history. Both squads came into the contest state ranked to open the 12-5A district campaign.

Marshall jumped out to a 14-6 halftime lead before the Lobos would rally back and the two saw regulation end at 21-21. After trading touchdowns in the first overtime, Marshall's Kendrick Starling would haul in a 7-yard score for the 35-28 Marshall lead. The Lobos were then stuffed at the goal line on their possession as the Mavericks upset the #1 ranked Lobos.

Longview's second largest winning streak, 15-games this time, spanned from 2001 to 2014. Both teams saw success outside of the series against each other, as Marshall appeared in the 2004 and 2005 state championships, while Longview made the state title games in 2008 and 2009.

2008 saw Longview reach 50 points against the Mavericks for the first time in their history. The two teams battled to a 21-21 halftime scoreline before Longview steam rolled the second half in route to a 50-21 victory at Maverick Stadium.

Since that 50 point margin in 2008, the Lobos have now rolled to 50 or more points in the series 5 times, including the last three years consecutively.

The Lobos currently have a 5-game winning streak and have won 19 of the previous 20 meetings between the two schools.

The two programs have met 9 times for a district championship in the 110 game series. In 1944, 1945, 1951 and 1966, Marshall walked away with the win and the district crown. In 1987, the Lobos were able to roll to a 34-22 victory and the district title. In 1989, Marshall reversed that with a 35-2 victory. The Lobos got the victory over Marshall for the district title in 1993 and 2009, until the most recent district title meeting that happened in 2015, when Marshall upset Longview, 28-25, at Maverick Stadium.

A series as old as the program itself, Longview and Marshall will meet for the 111th time tonight, and for the 49th time inside the city of Longview.